Montessori Curriculum

Montessori Curriculum

How Does the Montessori Curriculum Work?

The Montessori Curriculum offers children five key areas of study: Practical Life, Sensorial, Mathematics, Language, and Cultural Studies. Each area of study is made up of a set of educational materials that increase in complexity. Children progress through the Montessori Curriculum at their own pace based on their stage of development and interests.

Montessori educators present key lessons to introduce children to the name and learning outcomes of each Montessori material. After a Key Lesson, the children work with the Montessori material independently to practice, explore, and make connections to the key learning outcomes.

During this time, Montessori educators stand back, observe how the children are learning, and document their progress. An educator will only intervene if needed, to encourage children’s independence, as there is a direct link between children’s sense of empowerment and their ability to learn and retain new skills and information.

New lessons are provided when a child is ready to progress to the next stage. Through repetition and practice, children master the progression of the Montessori materials, and develop a fundamental understanding of each curriculum area.

Join Our Montessori

Call To Enrol Your Child
03 90087277
0434 555516

Key Curriculum Areas

  • Practical life: Independence, social skills and care for the environment
  • Sensorial: Colours, shapes, textures, weights, dimension, discrimination and distinguishing between smells, taste and sound
  • Mathematics: Numbers, quantities, counting, addition, subtraction, decimal system, multiplication and division
  • Language: Oral language, phonics, letter formation, sentence structure, vowels and consonants, writing, reading and early literacy skills
  • Culture: Geography, botany, zoology, science, history, music and art

Montessori Academy delivers a blended curriculum that incorporates both the Montessori Curriculum and the Early Years Learning Framework (EYLF). These programs work together to enhance children’s learning and development during their crucial formative years.

Montessori and EYLF

What’s the Difference Between Montessori and EYLF?

Montessori Education and the Australian Government’s Early Years Learning Framework (EYLF) work hand-in-hand to positively support children’s learning and development from birth to age six. Each curriculum provides children with a different approach to learning that ultimately supports their ‘Being, Belonging, and Becoming.’

The EYLF provides direction for educators to work in partnership with families to identify children’s strengths and interests, implement effective teaching strategies, and to support them in making a smooth transition to primary school. It focuses on play-based learning strategies that are informed by children’s interests. Learning outcomes focus on five key learning outcomes.

The EYLF is a key component of the National Quality Framework for early childhood education and care. The framework offers a vision where ‘all children experience learning that is engaging and builds success for life’. Families looking for more information on the EYLF can use the Information for Families Guide.

Montessori is an approach to early childhood education that is personalised to each child’s learning style, stage of development, and interests. Children develop complete academic and wellbeing foundations through hands-on experience, real-world application, and problem solving.

The Montessori Curriculum enhances the EYLF by providing children with the optimal learning environment, materials, and guidance to discover their full potential. The Montessori Curriculum covers five key learning areas that focus on nurturing strong academic and wellbeing foundations. Montessori learning provides children with hands-on learning experiences using educational materials that teach real-life skills and inspire a love of learning.